2010 European Open Halfpipe and Slopestyle results

It’s a big events weekend, apparently. We rounded up results and some exciting info about the BEO ’cause it’s over and why not? Stay tuned for exciting news about the Dew Tour, or just check any of the other sites, or even watch it on TV. Yay, events!

Halfpipe Finals


photo: Juegult/ TTR

It was a perfect sunny day on the Crap Sogn Gion in Laax, Switzerland for the final day of competition at the 6Star Burton European Open. The nail biting last runs of the prestigious halfpipe finals saw yesterday’s slopestyle winner, Peetu Piiroinen (FIN), take the lead from fellow Finn Ilkka-Eemeli Laari, who took second place, and Swiss rider Iouri Podladtchikov who finished in third place. The women’s title went to Paulina Ligocka (POL) with Swiss Olympic hopeful Ursina Haller in second and Akiko Miwa (JAP) in third.

All Men On the Podium Landed the Infamous Double Cork

Variations of the double cork were demonstrated by all the riders who made the men’s podium for the halfpipe competition. Leading up to his last run, Peetu had bailed twice trying the much talked about trick. But it was only in his last run when he finally landed it and received huge cheers from the crowd. With his signature amplitude and precision Piiroinen laid down a winning run consisting of a Frontside 7 Mute, Cab Double Cork 10, Frontside 9, Backside Air and a stylish Backside Alley Oop 5 Tailgrab. The celebrating Piiroinen, who now has a hefty lead in the Swatch TTR Rankings, commented; “It was hard to imagine that I could win both contests.  I wasn’t that nervous, but I just wanted to have that run so I just decided that I’m going to land it now. Because I had three runs and I had to at least land one of them.”  Piiroinen is setting himself up nicely for a shot at  becoming the first ever two-time Swatch TTR World Champion.

More info: TTR World Tour

Slopestyle Finals

Oh shit, there’s embeddable video. That beats reading!

Men’s Finals

1 Piiroinen Peetu
2 Bang Mikkel
3 Braaten Gjermund
4 Uotila Ville
5 Tonteri Roope
6 Backstrom Kevin
7 Haller Christian
8 Koski Markku
9 Podladtchikov Iouri
10 Holvik Tore

Women’s Finals

1 Rukajärvi Enni
2 Candrian Sina
3 Pancochova Sarka
4 Wiik Lisa
5 Gotlieb Shelly
6 van Gils Charlotte
7 Ramholt Tina
8 Karlinski Jordie
9 Van Der Pouw Britte
10 Fuller Aimee