Anderson and Horgmo Win Dew Slopestyle

Today I found myself in the Reno airport watching obnoxious Dew Tour ads while I waited for my bags. I am not going to the Dew Tour (rather the Nikita Chickita which will be way more fun) but I was forced to see these ads anyway. I am really confused. Basically it was people who do not look remotely familiar, making faces and adjusting their goggles. Maybe they are skiers? They have skiing in that event right? Anyway, at the end the final person morphs into Shaun White. Well, I am sold. Oh yeah, and he won the Dew Cup for Slopestyle today (though not the event) so he should have no trouble paying for that wrist surgery next week. Here’s the full release and results.

NEW YORK — February 20, 2009 — Olympic gold medalist Shaun White won the men’s snowboard slopestyle Dew Cup with the overall points lead, but was edged to second place in Friday’s Winter Dew Tour Toyota Championship by Norwegian Torstein Horgmo.

“I was hoping to be up there with the Dew Cup in hand and drop in and have a fun run, and that’s kind of what happened,” White said. He is the first athlete to win a Dew Cup in both the summer and winter Dew Tours.

White finished with 89.67 points to Horgmo’s 93.50. Charles Guldemond of Truckee, Calif. was third at 88.00.

Horgmo’s winning run included a Cab 270 to fakie on the first rail to a switch boardslide 450 out on the second rail. He landed a frontside 1080 with an indy grab on the first jump, to a gap on the down flat down rail. He finished with a frontside 270, a backside 900 with a melon grab and a switch backside 1260 on the last jump.

“I don’t come here to beat anybody but myself,” Horgmo said. “Even though that run at that moment was better than everybody else’s today, it doesn’t mean I’m a better snowboarder than those guys. It’s cool to be up there with my friends today and be able to put down and see them ride hard. It was a good day.”

In the women’s field, Jamie Anderson of South Lake Tahoe, Calif. won the snowboard slopestyle event with a score of 87.50. Canadian Spencer O’Brien placed second at 87.17 and clinched the Dew Cup based on her points lead. Janna Meyen-Weatherby of Bend, Ore. was third at 81.50.

Anderson’s winning run began with a boardslide to switch out on the rail, to a cab 270 switch out on the second rail. She continued with a switch backside 180 to a boardslide switch out, a switch frontside 540, a cab 540 and finished with a backside 180.

“I was stoked to win here,” Anderson said. “My family was out here rooting me on so that’s always good moral support. I had fun at the last two Dew Tour events I went to. I’m stoked for Spencer.”

O’Brien said she was thrilled to be the first athlete awarded a Dew Cup in the inaugural Winter Dew Tour series.

“It’s pretty amazing,” O’Brien said. “I’m so stoked. This whole series has been really awesome and just so much fun. I was really nervous coming into this one, but to clinch the Cup has been awesome.”

Hip hop star and two-time Grammy winner Common headlined the Verizon Wireless music stage with opening band Tweak Bird following the snowboard competition. FUEL TV filmed the show for one of its half-hour “Check 1,2” shows. The show will air on FUEL TV on April 13, 2009 at 8 pm ET/PT and will re-air several more times in the coming month.

The four-day competition is the final of three stops of the Winter Dew Tour that features men’s and women’s freeskiing and snowboarding disciplines. Saturday’s action features the men’s freeski slopestyle and superpipe finals while Sunday’s schedule includes the men’s and women’s snowboard superpipe event.

Winter Dew Tour Toyota Championships at Northstar-at-Tahoe Resort
Friday, Feb. 20, 2009
Truckee, Calif.

Men’s Snowboard Slopestyle Finals
1. Torstein Horgmo, Norway, 93.50. 2. Shaun White, Carlsbad, Calif., 89.67. 3. Charles Guldemond, Truckee, Calif., 88.00. 4. Dan Brisse, Richmond, Minn., 78.33. 5. Brandon Cocard, Truckee, Calif., 77.67. 6. Brandon Reis, Peterborough, N.H., 74.50. 7. Tyler Flanagan, Mammoth Lakes, Calif., 73.67. 8. Scotty Lago, Seabrook, N.H., 70.33 9. Mikkel Bang, Norway, 65.50. 10. Nick Poohachoff, South Lake Tahoe, Calif., 63.17.

Men’s Snowboard Slopestyle Points
1. Shaun White, 280. 2. Torstein Horgmo, 260. 3. Mikkel Bang, 215. 4. Andreas Wiig, 190. 5. Sam Hulbert, 147. 6. Brandon Reis, 135. 7. Scotty Lago, 127. 8. Eric Willett, 122. 9. Daniel Ek, 121. 10. Charles Guldemond, 120.

Women’s Snowboard Slopestyle Finals
1. Jamie Anderson, South Lake Tahoe, Calif., 87.50. 2. Spencer O’Brien, Canada, 87.17. 3. Janna Meyen-Weatherby, Bend, Ore., 81.50. 4. Chanelle Sladics, Newport Beach, Calif., 76.17. 5. Torah Bright, Australia, 69.00. 6. Christina Curry, Turner, Ore., 56.50.

Women’s Snowboard Slopestyle Points
1. Spencer O’Brien, 280. 2. Jamie Anderson, 275. 3. Jenny Jones, 220. 4. Chanelle Sladics, 210. 5. Bev Vuilleumier, 185. 6. Kjersti Ostgaard Buaas, 170. 7. Christina Curry, 155. 8. Kimberly Fasani, 145. 9. Megan Ginter, 140. 10. Torah Bright, 115.